Home > About > Visiting Researchers

Visiting Researchers

Dr Melinda Carrington


Dr Melinda Carrington recently became Lab Head of the Primary Care and Risk Surveillance Unit within Preventative Cardiology. As a past recipient of a NHMRC Postdoctoral Research Fellow, she holds a NHMRC Career Development Fellowship and is co-supported by the Department of Health and Ageing to undertake primary health care research, evaluation and development. She is an International Visiting Senior Researcher as the Hatter Institute for Cardiovascular Research in Africa, University of Cape Town, and an Adjunct Senior Research Fellow at Monash University.

Dr Carrington research is primarily based on advanced non-invasive cardiovascular risk screening to prevent cardiovascular disease and diabetes, with a focus on vulnerable individuals; including those from lower socio-economic backgrounds, regional/remote communities and the Indigenous population. Dr Carrington has over 50 peer-reviewed papers in prestigious international journals, 120 published conference abstracts, has co-authored four major reports and has given over 40 conference presentations.

Dr Carrington has successfully established a number of large-scale public health projects worth in excess of $2 million and involving a significant component of community participation and collaboration to raise awareness about cardiovascular disease and diabetes. Also supported by more than $14 million in funding, Dr Carrington is a Senior Investigator of a range of disease management programs for patients with heart disease (NIL-CHF, Young@Heart, WHICH?, WHICH? II, SAFETY) and more recently the Central Australian Acute Coronary Syndrome study of a nurse led intervention for patients and family members of Indigenous and non-Indigenous Australians. She was a Co-Investigator of the contemporary VIPER-BP national clinical trial in > 250 GP Clinics and over 2000 patients to assess intensive structured care for optimal blood pressure control.

Professor Lori Blauwet