Hatter Cardiovascular Genetics team were honoured at the 2017 NRF Team Science Awards

4 Oct 2017 - 11:00
From Left: Prof. Ntusi (HOD: Medicine), Dr Fish, Dr Kraus, Dr Pandor (Minister: Science and Technology), NRF Rep, Dr Shaboodien and Prof. Mayosi (Dean: Health Science)

At the National Research Foundation awards evening, held in Bloemfontein on Thursday, 14th September 2017, our Cardiovascular Genetics team were honoured with the "NRF Team Science Award for 2017".  

This award is presented in recognition of the contributions, creativity and achievements of the science team towards extending the boundaries of scientific research in Africa, and for the role they played in raising South Africa’s international stature as a world-class research destination. 

The attendees of the NRF Awards ceremony typically included the leadership of South African Universities, Science Councils, Research Institutions and Academies, relevant Government Departments, Ambassadors of partner countries, and Industry. The Minister of Science and Technology, Mrs Naledi Pandor, delivered the keynote address.